James F. LaSalle Teaching Excellence Award

The James F. LaSalle Teaching Excellence Award is given every spring to an MIS graduate student instructor who exemplifies the best of teaching and who is following Jim LaSalle's example of excellence in the classroom. This award was established in honor of Professor Jim LaSalle who taught at the university for over 40 years and was the professor cited by the most students as having had an impact on their undergraduate education. Jim retired from teaching in 2004 and, according to UA’s Alumni Association, taught over 50,000 students during his UA teaching career. Meet Jim here. 

Karthik Srinivasan2018 - Karthik Srinivasan

Since joining the University of Arizona, Karthik has taught MIS 111 Computers and the Internetworked Society and MIS 331 Database Management Systems. He has demonstrated excellence across these courses by focusing on a student centered learning approach in a collaborative atmosphere. He hopes to encourage his students to become lifelong learners and uses multiple forms of instruction to make that happen. 




Past Awardees

  • 2016 Sagar Samtani
  • 2015 - Rich Yueh
  • 2014 - Mark Grimes
  • 2013 - Justin Giboney
  • 2012 - Yi-Da Chen
  • 2011 - Katherine Carl
  • 2010 - Heong Lee
  • 2009 - Nichalin Suakkaphong
  • 2008 - Eyran Gisches
  • 2007 - Siddharth Kaza
  • 2006 - Matthew Jensen