COLLEGE DIRECTORY       :      VISIT ELLER      :      LOG IN 
The University of Arizona | Eller College of Management The University of Arizona Eller College of Management
Eller College Home > Department of MIS > Doctoral Program > James LaSalle Teaching Award
Management Information Systems

James F. LaSalle Teaching Excellence Award

James F. LaSalle
Dr. James F. LaSalle

The James F. LaSalle Teaching Award is given every Fall to a MIS graduate student instructor who exemplifies the best of teaching and who is following Jim's steps of excellence in the classroom.

This award was established in honor of Professor Jim LaSalle who has taught at the university for over 40 years and is the professor cited by the most students as having had an impact on their undergraduate education. 

Jim retired from teaching in 2004 and according to UA’s Alumni Association Jim has taught over 50,000 students during his UA teaching career! More about Jim here.

2014 - Mark Grimes

Mark Grimes

Since joining the University of Arizona, Mark has taught MIS304 three times. He begins his courses with a “needs assessment” where he learns students’ goals and concerns for the class, as well as their familiarity with the topics. He uses this information to customize the course to his students.  Mark also leverages his considerable work experience to bring real and interesting examples into the class. Ultimately, Mark hopes that his students will leave the class with something they did not have before – a new skill, a new interest in technology, or simply a new curiosity. Vist Mark here.


Past Awardees

2013 - Justin Giboney
2012 - Yi-Da Chen
011 - Katherine Carl
2010 - Heong Lee
2009 - Nichalin Suakkaphong
2008 - Eyran Gisches
2007 - Siddharth Kaza
2006 - Matthew Jensen